

MAP 2: CANADA IN 1898

By 1898, Canada had undergone some important changes. British Columbia joined as a province in 1871 and Prince Edward Island in 1873. In addition, the Arctic Islands were transferred by Great Britain to Canada in 1880 and became part of the NWT.

A "District of Keewatin" was created out of the NWT in 1876 and had its boundaries adjusted at various times over the next 30 years. Some historical maps continue to show the Keewatin as part of the NWT after 1876, but the Keewatin was legally separate from the NWT from 1876 to 1905.

Manitoba (1881), Ontario (1889) and Quebec (1898) were all expanded into the Keewatin or NWT.

Finally, in 1896 gold was discovered in the western NWT. There was a massive gold rush and the Yukon territory was established in 1898.