

## **MAP 1: CANADA IN 1870**

Canada was established with four founding provinces in 1867. These were Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec and Ontario. The *British North America Act* (now known as the *Constitution Act, 1867*) was passed by the British Parliament to bring the new federation into existence.

Canada was greatly expanded in 1870, when Rupert's Land and the Northwestern Territory were transferred by Britain to Canada. The federation's fifth province – Manitoba – was established from this area. The balance became the North-West Territories (NWT). As can be seen, the spelling has changed over the years.

The Arctic Islands did not form part of Rupert's Land and the Northwestern Territory and were not transferred to Canada until 1880. As well, although both Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland took part in the Quebec Conference leading to confederation, they did not actually join Canada until 1873 (Prince Edward Island) and 1949 (Newfoundland).